Mile a Day challenge – Day 10

Miles Ran Today – 1
Total Miles – 17.8

Yesterday was solid. For the first time in a month (since I started working earlier hours), I finally gave myself enough time to bike in to work. I really enjoy biking, and it’s a great workout. From my particular place of living, it is about a a half hour ride to work, all downhill, about six miles. It’s an easy ride to work, and I like to push the last little stretch of road to see if I can match speed with traffic. I can’t. Still fun to push myself though.

Of course, the flip side to this is that the ride back home is pretty exhausting and takes twice as long. There is a monster hill that I can only bike about a third of the way up in one go, then I have to walk for a bit. Burns my legs so good, and I’m panting from pure exhaustion by the time I get home. It levels out for a bit after the hill, which is nice, and my legs appreciate the difference.

So, I biked to work, then hit up the gym afterwards. Got some good lifts in. Now, while the morning was particularly beautiful, it was starting to crap out by the time I was getting off work. Decided to use the gym and get my mile in on the treadmill before I biked home, in order to warm myself up. It was quite cold otherwise.

So that was bike commuting for about 12 miles, including the nasty hill, weight lifting for forty minutes, and my daily mile. I was pretty wiped by the time I got home.

I didn’t stop there, however. I’ve been wanting to try a recipe for a while, so I kept the momentum and whipped up a pretty fantastic dinner of spinach and feta stuffed chicken breasts. An incredibly easy recipe, but it might be one of my favorite chicken dishes now. Just so freaking good. Doesn’t hurt that I thoroughly enjoy me some spinach and feta.

Another thing that I’ve found myself doing more and more during this challenge is cooking for myself. Not only am I saving money, but I find it very rewarding, and fun too! I’ve tried my hand (for the first time ever!) at chicken teriyaki, breakfast sandwiches (fried egg, english muffin, sausage patty, and cheese), omelettes, and now this spinach and feta chicken. Those are all things I’ve wanted to try to make but never got around to. Not anymore. New found energy from consistent exercise means I’m trying more stuff that I’ve wanted to do. Nice.

Although, gotta say, the omelette turned out pretty meh. I guess I shouldn’t expect too much from a first attempt. Gotta keep at it, as I love me a good omelette.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

