I’ve got to admit, I’m not a big fan of this time of year.

Now, don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of reasons to love the fall and winter months. There are very many things I enjoy about the changing foliage, the holidays, and everything wintery. Heck, I’m a December baby!

But when you live where I do, and you have a brain as fragile as mine, the negative outweighs the positive. Let me explain. I come home from work tonight, decide to go for a quick run, get in just over two miles (easing back into running after a long hiatus), hop in the shower, glance at the clock (just past 6:30), realize that there’s still plenty of time in the day for getting stuff done, look outside, notice it is pitch black, and promptly lose motivation.

It gets dark as shit here. No nice way of putting it. Couple that with my history of (sometimes crippling) depression, and it’s a tough stretch of the year for me. It becomes very easy for me to become absolutely down and lethargic, and I tend to waste the days.

However, I’m going to try to combat that from all fronts this year. Going to try to stay as active as possible, keeping my brain so exhausted it won’t even have time to wander into dark territory. Going to stay positive.

It’s just tough, is all. One of these days I’ll have to go further in depth on my psyche and why my brain is often my worst enemy, as my struggles with depression have a crater sized impact on my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment